Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Nov 20, 2006, 11:35 AM   #1

I recently purchased a D50 w/ lens kit. I'm new to the dSLRfamily and I am wondering what accessories are suggested/needed.

For example:

Extra battery?

UV lens filter?

lens cleaning kit?

Thanks for your help!
torodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 20, 2006, 1:29 PM   #2

I didn't buy an extra battery with my D50. This is mainly because the one that is in it lasts a very long time - longer than any photo session I've done.

A UV filter would be a good investment for protecting your glass. I have one on all of my lenses.

Depending on the type of photography you are doing, a tripod always seems to be useful.

If you don't have a camera bag, I would get one. It'll help protect your investment.
Nizidramanii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2006, 1:51 PM   #3

Hello Torodiesel,

How about: How about a camera bag to protect your camera? I have a 2nd battery and would recomend a spare as I use mine frequently. I also would recomend a UV filter and perhaps a circular polarizer. I also would suggest spare SD cards and a card reader... The wireless remote is also nice to have.

Last but not least - more lenses !
joeybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2006, 2:53 PM   #4

Accessory costs add up really quick. So know what you "must have", and what are "good to have".

If you have the money, and know what you'll shoot the most, you should consider getting more lenses. I had the 18-55 and 70-300G lenses for a while and decided to sell them and upgrade. I now have the 18-200VR for all-around, Tokina 12-24 for wide angle, and 50 f/1.8 for portrait.