Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Dec 15, 2006, 9:52 PM   #1

Isawa photo taken with the following settings:

Focal length = 34mm, Exposure Time= 1/250s, Aperture f/10, ISO 100, with D200 + 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G lens.

Two questions:

1. How to achieve this setting? I have the same equipment as above.

2. How is it possible to set the aperture to f/10, when the lens is only f/3.5-5.6? Also for that matter, is it then possible to set the aperture to f/2 (for example)?

Please feel free to be detailed as I am a novice.

I followed the instructions in the manual, but could not achieve the above settings. The manual is not helpful. I purchased Thom Hogan's guide on D200, but the CD has not arrived yet. I am really looking forward to it.
photino is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 15, 2006, 10:44 PM   #2

photino wrote:
1. How to achieve this setting? I have the same equipment as above.
Unless the lighting is identical, you'd probably need to use manual exposure (M position on your mode dial) and set both the aperture and the shutter speed to get the settings identical. The control wheels are designed to let you dial in the desired settings (just watch your viewfinder as you spin them and you can watch the changes).

But, if the lighting is not the same, you'd end up with an overexposed or underexposed image, depending on the ISO speed you used. ;-)

You can't just use settings at random. You have to use settings that match the conditons. In most conditions, Aperture Priority is a better way to go for more control, since you can use the aperture to control depth of field, and let the camera select the correct shutter speed for proper exposure. So, that can be much easier than using manual exposure and watching the meter in the viewfinder to dial in your settings for both variables.