Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Jan 24, 2007, 5:16 PM   #1

I'm in a bit of a quandry. I'm looking at getting a DSLR. I've had 35 mm SLRs and rangefinders for years and although I have a nice little P & S Digital, I'm missing the fun of a more complicated camera with interchangeable lens.

One of the top picks on my list is the D80 Nikon, but I'm concerned about it not having a sensor cleaner , like some of the newer Canons or Pentaxes.

I anticipate I will be changing lens outside every so often and my question is, is this dust on the sensor a big issue with the Nikon D80?

Are you cleaning the sensor on a regular basis when you change lens a lot?

Question # 2...ruggedness of the D80 body.

I note that it does not have a metal frame like the D200 (too expensive for me), the Pentax K10 or the Canon 30 D.

I'm not a pro, just an amateur who like snapping away indoors, outdoors at everything.

I intend to keep whatever I have for many years and durability and reliabilty are important factors.

Lens quality in terms of ruggedness is also important. I understand the 18- 135 Nikon lens has a plastic lens mount, which gives me some concern. Do you think this will be a problem over the years?

I'm on a bit of a budget, so although I know those $ 1500 Nikon lens are strong and durable, they're out of my price range.

Your opinion, experience is welcome. Thanks.

lesmore49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 24, 2007, 5:30 PM   #2

I have a Nikon D-70 and I have found that cleaning the glass protector plate which covers the imager to be no problem at all. Both Copperhill and Delkin have great cleaning kits that are easy to use and work quite well.

I clean about every 6 to 8 weeks and have had no problem in doing so myself.

mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 2007, 11:31 PM   #3