Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 19, 2007, 10:58 PM   #1

Today was a proud day. My brand new D80 c/w AF -S Nikkor 18-135 lens & Tokina SD 12-24arrived. I am totally new to DSLR cameras and have spent many evenings educating myself thanks to some kind people on this forum.

I read the quick start instructions and began shooting. Very impressive in comparison with my previous Olympus C4000. However, it became clear after a short while that I was having problems with the auto focus on the 18-135. When I depress theshoot button, the lens "hunts" and makes some weird noises but will not focus and allow me to take the photograph. I have no problems with manual focusing and the auto focususing the Tokina 12-24 is fast and very impressive.

I hope that I am doing something wrong and the lens is OK. Has anyone had similar problems or can advise me what I might be doing wrong?

Many thanks...Paul.
paulinfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 20, 2007, 5:50 AM   #2

Were shooting in a low light? The 18-135 is a slow lens and it will hunt in these

situations. Make sure the auto focus lamp is on.:|
digital demon47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 20, 2007, 12:21 PM   #3

Hi Paul,

I am a newbie with D80 and its kit lens 18-135mm.

I have hadsomesimilar problem. But I am not sure it is the sameproblemthat you havewith your lens.

When you take a shot you need to frame a photo in the viewfinder with the main subject positioned in any of the eleven focus areas. (There are 11 focus points in the focus area.)

If your focus point is point to the blank space or empty space,
(your selected focus point is out of the subject area) the lens cannot focus.

For example, if I pointed to the white wall the lens cannot focus at all.