Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Aug 21, 2007, 6:48 PM   #1

In the past I have been an advocate of using replcement batteries for my (or any for that matter) digital camera. I mean if you can buy an equivalent battery for half the price which meets the manufacturers spec, why not..???

In the last 3 days though I have ripped my hair out trying to sort out a problem with my batteries...

Camera = Nikon D80 with MB-D80 twin battery Grip

Charger = MH-18a

Batteries = Genuine EN-EL3E and replacements are marked as For Nikon EN-EL3E

Until last Sunday, all had been going well. I had been using the replacement batteries for about3 months now, no signs of abnormailty or problems. I left the two genuine units in my camera bag as emergency backups. I enjoyed a good outing on Saturday taking many shots and thought I had plenty of power left in the battery in use so I didn't charge it up. BUT,, I thought I had best charge up the now non-used genuine batteries, just to keep them topped up, so I did, one straight after the other. No apparent problems. Sunday, I went out and on my way in the car I checked out battery life from the menu.

Left battery - 0%

Right battery - 100%

Oh, ok.. The 100 % battery will still last all day so no real hassles here. It was a good day for taking pictures. When I got home, I checked again. Right battery was now down to 87%, so I charged it up first. I stuck it in the charger and went away and came back about half an hour later and saw the LED had stopped blinking which meant full charge had been reached, so I took it out and put in the dead flat battery and again walked away. Now here's where it gets interesting... About 15 minutes later I was kind of busting for the rest room so I went, passing the charger and I looked down at it and noticed that LED was not blinking... Hmmmm, I could have sworn that I put this on only about 15 mins ago.. I did...!!!