Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 11, 2008, 7:36 AM   #1

Hello all. What settings are best for shooting in low lighting? I have a D80 with the Nikkor VR 18-200mm lens. I guess I'm a little confused about using shutter speed and film speed properly. Whenever I adjust the ISO I either get blown out photos or they are extremely dark. I guess I need to find a middle ground. But when there's a low-light situation which is the best to adjust? ISO or shutter speed?

Also, I will be attending a Japanese festival this weekend. It will take place at night and involve big crowds, floats, and fire. I won't be able to bring a tripod so what do I need to adjust to get the best pictures in this sort of situation?

Sorry for the newbie questions but I've only had my D80 for three weeks now and I'm still learning. I've read a lot but as I said the ISO and shutter speed stuff confuses me.
Shirasagi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 11, 2008, 10:17 AM   #2

Shirasagi wrote:
But when there's a low-light situation which is the best to adjust? ISO or shutter speed?
Neither !
If things are moving - May be a flash(or flashes) is what you need
-> Lighting is essential in photography (more so than high-ISO or fast lens)

In big crowds for example, you'll need large DOF to capture everyone and fast lens won't cut it
... and if anyone(or something) move neither VR nor a tripod will do it either...
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 11, 2008, 11:35 AM   #3