Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Apr 5, 2008, 6:00 PM   #1

Hi I am a new budding photographer and new to this site. I have been reading some of the Q&A here and the answers are very helpfull, so I thought I would post a question about a problem that I cant seem to fix. I have just bought a Nikon D80 (I know I'm probably out of my depth with it, but I'm stuck with it now) and I have had a lot of success with it and enjoy using it. But when ever I try to take a photo out doors at dusk to capture the brilliant light it creates my photos are blurred. I can fix the shot with a flash but then lose the natural colours and the picture around the subjuect is dark. This is becoming very fustrating because I have missed some great shots. I have photoshop CS3 but I am still learning that aswell, although when the photo is really bad the software cant fix it either. Any help will be greatly appreciated. many thanks. Lee
leeyoung is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 6, 2008, 6:51 AM   #2

Short Answer:

Use a tripod in low light.

Longer Answer:

You're probably seeing blur from camera shake, and if your subjects are not stationary, you may be seening blur from subject movement, too (and a tripod won't help with that).

The camera has to keep the shutter open long enough to "expose" the image. When light is lower, shutter speeds will need to be slower for proper exposure.

The rule of thumb for reducing blur from camera shake is that your shutter speeds should be 1/focal length. So, if you're zoomed into 50mm, you'll want 1/50 second or faster. If you're zoomed into 100mm, you'll want 1/100 second or faster, etc. So, not zooming in as much can help

You can increase your ISO speed to get faster shutter speeds. Each time you double the ISO speed, the camera can use shutter speeds twice as fast for the same lighting and aperture. But, increasing ISO speeds will increase noise levels.