Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Apr 15, 2008, 7:38 PM   #1

So I've had my D80 (with the Nikkor 18-200mm) for almost two months now. I've put up a gallery online of some of my photos and I was looking for some experienced Nikon photographers to give me some constructive feedback.

If there is a picture you think could have been better, please let me know and let me know what you think I could have done to make it better. I am a beginner so I'm still trying to get into the feel of this camera.

Also, I don't have a pile of money to spend on this hobby at the moment. I would really like to get a macro lens but I'm wondering if investing in a flash instead would be more useful. What do you guys think? I guess I've always though of flashes as being unnecessary and unwanted in nature or natural (not studio) photography as they tend to bleach out photos and natural light seems best. Does a high quality flash really make a difference? What sort of situations could I use such a flash in?
Shirasagi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 15, 2008, 10:33 PM   #2

I enjoyed your images. You have good composition and your colors add to your artistry of photography.

Somehow I don't like such work associated with a site called 'deviant.'...

'Deviant' has a bad conotation in english, IMHO.

Try Smugmug or Zenfolio.

A photograper paints with light. An effective photographer uses ambient as well as his own light. Ignore those who claim you can do without flash.

Flash washes out images because the flash is sitting on the camera.

Its light fires toward the subject, illuminates the subject, and reflects back to the lens with the light that has illuminated your subject.