Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Jan 6, 2009, 2:26 PM   #1

I will admit that I'm new to the SLR level of digital photography, and I only have a Nikon D40. I realize it is Nikon's bottom of the line digital SLR. On other forums they speak of the D40 in almost a snobbish fashion, suggesting that it just isn't capable of producing high-quality images. I came from a Fuji bridge camera to the D40, so I guess I just don't realize what can REALLY be accomplished with a "real" digital SLR. But from where I came from, I cannot see anything wrong with the quality of this image. It was taken with the 18-55 mm kit lens. It's good enough for me.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 7, 2009, 2:41 AM   #2

You have brought up a valid issue. My short answer is that any digital slr made, regardless of megapixel count, is capable of shooting a magazine cover, in the right hands. Snobs, you bet. They're everywhere, on every forum on the internet. Does their opinion count? Not to me.The D40 may be Nikon's lowest entry-level dslr, but it is still a great camera capable of amazing photos, again, in the right hands. Your photo is beautiful. Do you think a Nikon D300, with that same lens, could have made that picture better? Not so you'd notice. The real advantage of a dslr is its adaptability. Entry level cameras are less adaptable than pro-level cameras, with good reason. Most of us amateur hobbyists don't need a zillion focus points, I only use one normally, the center one. I don't need 5 fps, three will do me just fine. I don't need weather sealing, because I am a fair-weather photographer. Etc., ad nauseum... Don't worry about what a bunch of camera snobs are saying and enjoy your camera. It's a good one, and judging from your picture, you have the hang of it..

Hawgwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2009, 4:51 AM   #3