Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Mar 8, 2009, 6:05 PM   #1

Hello all
Im just starting out with photography and cant wait to get started but theres just one little thing stopping me from getting started, I need a camera.
Ive heard lots about Nikon and Canon and that its good to get a camera that can have alot of lenses added to it as you get better.
I was just wondering if you guys can give me your views on the best DSLR for beginners please.
I want to photograph wildlife especially birds of prey and I want to take lots of landscape photos so I need one thats best for these.My budget is about £400.
Thanks very much in advance
Kind regards
joeted is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 9, 2009, 1:27 PM   #2

I had four other cameras before I purchased my Nikon D40. It was my first digital SLR, and I'm enjoying every minute with it. It "only" has 6 MP, but the images are superb and are suitable for enlargements. It has a nice menu system, and in my opinion would be a very good place to start. Some say that they outgrew the D40 very quickly. I have been a hobbyist photographer for 50 years, and I am very satisfied with the capabilities of the D40.
jphess is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 9, 2009, 5:22 PM   #3

I too have been into photography a long time. My jump to digital was really tough for me. I bought a used D50 because that's the best I could afford. I was a little worried at the time and wanted something more advanced. But I found it to be a good camera. I want to get something new. (for one thing I like having two cameras. ) and have been thinking about a D60 or maybe even a D40. Or whatever Nikon comes out with nest if it has live view with an articulate screen.

Some people will say some bad things about the D40 and D60