Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Nov 30, 2010, 10:36 PM   #1
Default D90 Macro Lens - recommendations

Hi Folks,

I;ve been playing around with my D90 for almost a year. I'm still total beginner, but I absolutely love this DSLR. It's not the tiniest camera, but I take it with me every where and I absolutely love the pics quality!!! anyways.. i'm just rambling on.

Now I need to find macro lens. I'm into saltwater aquarium hobby and I want to take close up picture of corals (from outside of the tank). Many guys/girls in the hobby take beautiful pics, but I can't seem to focus on anything in the tank close up.

So what are you recommendations for a macro lens. I don't have a huge budget, so I want to know what is the best bang for the buck. If it turns out I can't afford it I will save up for it. So like I said I want to take close ups of corals in aquarium and I do a lot of hiking so I take close ups of bugs/flowers/etc...

Hope you can help me.
szymek is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 1, 2010, 2:58 AM   #2

some picture will be crops mate , i use a d90 and a tamron 90mm macro and still do the odd cropping to get a good result if you need to save extra for a lense purchase a raynox 250 to put you on
Nikon D600 / Nikon 50 1.8 G / Nikon 85 1.8 G Always wanting more! MY FLICKR
simple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2010, 6:34 AM   #3

There are lots of macro lenses, and they're all good. Nikon and Sigma make stabilized macro, but since you're more likely to see motion blur due to subject movement than motion blur due to camera shake, that's probably not important.