Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Apr 26, 2011, 3:59 PM   #1
Default D3100 question

Ive been using my new D3100 for almost 2 months now and LOVE IT but have a question.. I have recently notices that sometimes I will press the shutter button 1/2 way down and it doesnt beep and I cant take a photo. what is the reason for this??

edit: I assume this is because the camera can not AUTOFOCUS? the photo looks in focus to me so I dont know why it wont let me take a photo.. I can usually put it on manual focus, focus and then it takes a shot.

This is using either the 18-55 or 55-200 kit lenses...

Last edited by djqwik; Apr 26, 2011 at 4:08 PM.
djqwik is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 26, 2011, 7:24 PM   #2

It is most likely the focus distance the lens is capable of. Usually too close to the subject is what causes this. Back away a bit and see if it doesn't take a picture then.
vIZnquest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 8:20 AM   #3

There are various reasons that a lens will fail to autofocus. These include, as mentioned above, that you are too close to the focal point for the lens; that the subject is too dark; and that the focal point is on too uniform a subject -- if you do architectural photography, for example, you may have this problem if the focal point is on a blank wall. I have also had this problem with my Tokina 12-24 when the scene is all high contrast -- e.g., I was shooting in a reasonably well-lit wooded area, where the tree trunks were essentially black and the surrounding area was bright but featureless, and couldn't get an autofocus lock. I expect that just about any standard fl lens could have focused on a scene like that, but IME UWA lenses are more prone to fail to focus. FWIW
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2011, 5:46 PM   #4