Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Apr 7, 2004, 12:08 AM   #1
Default Something in my mind before buying the D70

For a long time eye on this new DC, I thing it is the time to go for it, as my first DSLR. But before I put the dollars on the counter, there are still something in my mind to let me hold on.

1. The warranty

I am a Vancouver resident in Canada, but I want to buy it in the U.S., because its price in U.S. ($1299US) is much lower than what I have to pay for in Canada ($1899CND + 14.4%Tax!). So I have to concern about its warranty. I think since Nikon is a global company, so Nikon-Canada should offer me the same warranty. But after I contact them, I found I am WRONG, they say they can NOT even fix it if it was not bought in Canada! What a shame!

What a shame! Nikon! ( Or Nikon-Canada! )

2. The ISO setting

Nowadays a lot of non-DSLR DC has ISO setting of 50, 80 and 100. But the D70 ISO start from 200 to 1600. I don't know whether or not I need a 50 or 1600, but I thing the 100 should be regular. I am not sure what the difference will be between 100 and 200, probably there are no difference at all in D70, but if it has ISO 100, just let me feel more comfortable.

3. The image quality

I go to the local dealer and try the D70. Just use the Auto setting to make some indoor shooting, then transfer them to computer and show them in a nice 19" LCD monitor. The image is very large, but is not so "crystal" clear as what I expect, especially at this price.

So, what should I do? Go for it or just keep waiting? I thing Canon will not just sit there and do nothing.
jason_wyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 7, 2004, 12:59 AM   #2

I'll just address the last point, about whether or not to wait.