Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Aug 23, 2004, 7:39 AM   #1

Question: If I shoot Raw + JPEG (Basic) will the JPEG (Basic) provide me enough of a quality image to print up to 8X10 and allow me to do some small amount of processing or would I be better off shooting each scene in Raw and then repeating the shot utilizing JPEG (fine) with bracketing? I shoot mainly landscapes and portrait scenes. Eventually I may want to be able to sell some of the photographs if I ever takephotography beyond a serious hobby.

I'm new to the dSLR world and am in the process of learning the D70 and digital processing utilizing Photoshop CS. At this point in time I would prefer not to force the introduction of digital post processing with each of my shots in a work flow but be able to go ahead and just review the shots and print up to 8X10s for those that come out looking very good.

I do however want to have the flexibility of post processing if the shot has exceptional promise and enlarge to say 11X14. In my understanding of the Raw image, it seems like Raw would be the best way to go since it would give me the most flexibility and ability to compensate for sub-optimal exposures and white balances.This is important to me since I'm in the process of learning about proper exposure, white balances, etc. However with shooting Raw I would need to post process every picture.
mcts is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 23, 2004, 12:16 PM   #2

In my humble opinion (which won't buy you a cup of coffee!) jpeg basic would not give very good quality on enlargments. I shoot mostly jpeg fine and have enlarged to 11x17 with beautiful results.