Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old May 5, 2005, 8:08 AM   #1

who had tried the SB-600 with D70 in wireless mode?

I want to know If I could balance the power between D70 internal flash and SB-600?
Could I change balance, still using i-TTL, or, may be it is possible in manual mode?

Another questoin: how the wireless works?
SB-600 has a sensor on its side for remote signal.
Does the D70 contrall it by infrared, via small remote window under the mode dial or in some other way?
It this case I expect control signal could be blocked by Lens, if I want to put the SB-600 on the right side...

Dmitry M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 6, 2005, 1:23 AM   #2

Let me start by saying that I am new to this stuff. I do own an SB-800 and an SB-600 and I have been able to get them bothe to fire remotely (controlled by the built-in flash) at various positions. It is my understanding that the remote units get their signal from the flash of the master, so you can have them situated all around the room and the bright light of the master flash will trip the others. I have also set the SB-800 up on camera set as the master and been able to place the SB-600 behind my subject and get it to fire. I'm still trying to get a handle on the correct settings though. Automatic does not always produce the results that I want.
dboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2005, 12:45 AM   #3

Thanks, dbroader,

It's good news, that slaves are controlled by master flash light.

It is really great to have both: SB-600 and SB-800.

In my case I'm interested to use SB-600 as a main light sourse for indoor portraits, and for shooting someequipment for presentations and web.

For this I need to change the power of master and slave flashes separately.

What is the most interesting point if the preset balance between master and slave will work with i-TTL?
Old May 11, 2005, 1:50 AM   #4