Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon dSLR

Old Dec 28, 2002, 12:52 PM   #1
Default Ready to become an amateur photographer? Help needed.

I post this message in the general QA forum. Hope somebody here can help me too. thanks.

I have been a photograph fan for years. I owned a HP PhotoSmart C618 ( equa model Pentax EI200). I am thinking of becoming an amateur photography somehow, or some kind of freelance photographer. I am an economist by training. But I love photography so much.

Can someone share his experience? Or tell me how to do it? If possible, I am planning to buy a Nikon D100 to fulfill my dreams.

Thanks a million in advance.

By the way, this is my first post. I love this forum. Thanks steve.
bigtiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 29, 2002, 8:18 PM   #2

1. DO not buy the D100.

This is a camera in transition. Full frame dSLARs are here now and should be the standard, even at the prosumer rlevel, in a YEAR OR SO.

Also remember that the fiunal cost of the D100, with lenses, etc, is going to hit close to 3K.

2. Do buy a CP5700 or the similar Minolta 7hi. These allow full control of exposure, etc .. the major thing you will want to learn as a serious photographer, as well as zoom lenses that would be out of site on a dSLR.

The only advantage of the dSLR is for a pro who already has a set of SLR lenses that she loves. Otherwise, the reolution of the CP5700 is as good as the D100 ... at least for any work you are lily to want to do as an amateur. In side by side tests with large prints (bigger than 16X20) I do nto believe anyone caould tell the difference.
Steves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2002, 10:26 AM   #3

Steve - why you say DO NOT BUY D100 and use cp5700.

BUT if BigTiger is serious want photographer then he want different lenses than one cp5700. I don't like digital zoom, it suck! as distorb.