Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Feb 4, 2007, 3:07 PM   #1

I am going to get a Nikon D80 and am trying to decide what lens to purchase with it. This will be my first digital slr. I used to use a film slr, and no I don't have the lenses still. I consider my self sort of an amature or hobbist, but want equipment I can grow with. I want to take artsy landscape and animal phothos to hang on walls and give as gifts. I think I've picked a good camera, now what lens?

I want to get just ONE lens for now that does it all (I know that's impossible.) But I don't want to carry a lot of lenses for now and if I invest in more lenses latter, I don't want to have them overlap in focal length with the lens I am getting now.

The lenses I am considering are:

Nikon 18-135 kit lens ($300)

Tamaron 18-200 Di-II ($400)

Tamaron 18-250 Di-II ($500)

Nikon 18-200 Vr ($750)

I am somewhat new to digital, so tell me, now that we can do so much cropping and blowing up of images, if I want to fill up the frame with my image, is it better to have a lens with more zoom to get closer to the subject or is it better to have a higher quality lens to maintain sharpness so that I can crop in on the subject latter.

And also, is the nikon kit lens (18-135) better quality than the tamron lenses eventhough it has less zoom. Will I see a difference in the sharpness of the images?

I like the idea of being able to go down 4 shutter speeds with the 18-200vr. Is that really the lens to get? If I was really going to do this right is that the direction to go.

Any others to consider?

Thank you,

tan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 4, 2007, 4:26 PM   #2