Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Feb 7, 2008, 6:40 AM   #1

I am fairly new to photography and only have a standard 18-55mm lens on my D80. I am looking for an all in one option for a lens and have narrowed it down to 24-120mm or 18-200mm. Once is slightly cheaper than the other and I am not sure so far how much tele I will be shooting.

Any suggestions on whether the 24-120 would fulfill most needs of a beginning or is not not wide or tele enough.

Also, I don't want to buy a lens now and outgrow it in a year, so I'm hoping for something that should last me a few years as I develop my photography skills more.

Your views would be appreciated !
rr101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 7, 2008, 11:46 AM   #2

Both are very good len's but if it were me I would have to go with the 18/200 "VR" I have both of them and really only use my 18/200 for just about everything I do.

I sure wish Nikon would come out with a 16/400 F2.8 lens in the $800 or $900 dollar range. I know they won't/can't so I will just keep using my 18/200"VR"

Ronnie948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2008, 4:37 PM   #3

I think I have to go with Ronnie948. The 24-120mmVR is a very good lens, as a matter of fact I would ratephotos in the 24 mm to 120 mm as about the same from each lens, but here's why I personally see the 18-200mm as better...

1. 18-200 as opposed to 24-120 - reaches further both ways...

2. VR (24-120mm),, VRII (18-200mm).Only a slightdifference but I do noticeit. VRII is slightly more stable,, only slightly...

3. Only a marginal cost difference from 24-120 to 18-200 (depends on where you shop)...