Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jun 18, 2008, 4:05 PM   #1

I have a D40x and it came with an 18-55mm lens. Then later on I bought the 55-200mm. I like using the 55-200 but during my first trip with 2 lenses, Idid not like switching lenses all the time. Now I am looking at the 18-200 which gets a lot of good reviews. It is kinda expensive however. Also I am worried about the f/stops. I haven't checked what I have with the 55-200 but at 55mm which lens has a small f number? 18-200 starts at 3.5I believe, and at 55 it is obviously a bigger number. I wanna say my 55-200 starts at 3.5 so it sounds like a faster lens. Also does the quality change that I would notice? I am an amateur photographer but I do shoot in manual all the time and mess with the settings.

I have a trip coming up next week and I will be doing a lot of travelling and I wanna make a decision about the 18-200 lens. Should I buy it? Also the Tamron looks cheaper but it does not have VR which is a must for me at that focal length. In addition, if I buy it, what do I do with my existing lenses? Do I keep them or try to sell them? Hopefulyl someone experienced a similar situation. Sorry for the long post with bunch of questions. Oh also this is my first post, hello everyone!

Cyrus14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 19, 2008, 2:30 AM   #2

Your now at a point of decision that lots of photographers at any level face. How to go from what I have now to something better. That better is relative to your needs. Alot of this is based on how you shoot your photos.

Based on what you listed you are worried about the speed of the lense, while at the same time worried about the quality of picture I believe. I own the 18-200 and it is a nice all in one lense, but like any other it does have minor issues.