Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jun 21, 2010, 10:42 PM   #1
Default Nikon D40 Portrait Lens??

I currently own a Nikon D40 that I purchased with the 18-55 and 55-200 lenses as a package. My main use is to photograph my children,however I want to try to take some really nice close up face shots of my children and a new nephew.I notice most professional pictures are so crisp and clear and the background is a bit blurred.Can anyone recommend what type of lens/ settings I could use to get these effects. I will probably be just about 2 to four feet away from the subject.
I am not a pro by all means and am a bit confused by the lenses. I am not exactly sure what the differences are between the macro lenses and wide angle lenses,and just a regular lens.Does the D40 really have good capabilities to take near professional pictures??i dont really know too much about shutter speed or aperture and how they affect the picture.Any help or info would be greatly appreciated!!
katied is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 22, 2010, 6:04 AM   #2

The blurred background you see in professional portraits is from a shallow depth of field, which comes from using a large aperture. You can experiment by using your 55-200 at 55mm where the maximum aperture is f/4.0. It won't be great, but you will see the effect you describe. And while your 55-200 is plenty sharp at 55mm and f/4.0, it has a lot of vignetting, which, as a photographic effect, you may or may not like.

To decrease the shallow depth of field even further, you need either a longer focal length lens with the same aperture, or a larger aperture at the same focal length, or some combination of the two.