Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jul 2, 2011, 8:26 PM   #1
Default Macro Lens for Nikon D70

I need help.

I'm an avid amateur photographer who desperately needs help selecting a fairly decent macro lens for my Nikon D70. I've loved this camera ever since I bought it 5 years ago, and it came with a standard kit lens, which has served me well, but I'm shooting a wedding for some friends in August, and I need to have a macro lens to get close ups for portraits as well as macro shots of the place settings and the RINGS!

I can't be spending thousands of dollars on professional level lenses, I just can't afford that at this point in my life (someday!). I have to say, my budget is really no more than $200 for a lens that will fit my D70. I don't care about a lot of bells and whistles, I use my manual focus and manual settings anyway, but I want to know, what lenses should I be looking for?

After looking on this forum, and researching online as much I could (a lot of the technical jargon is lost on me) it looks like the Tamron AF 70-300 may be my best choice. Is that really a "macro" lens with it being able to shoot so far away? Help me understand exactly what I'm looking at here, and if I have any alternatives I should consider.
rainforest_elf is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 2, 2011, 8:56 PM   #2

The Tamron AF 70-300 should be labeled "macro-like" since it can't really focus close enough for real macro work of life size. It is only capable of a maximum magnification ratio of 1:2 (one half life-size). In other words at the closest it will capture an area of 32mm by 48mm. It also does this at 1.5m (59.0 in) / 0.95m (37.4 in) macro http://www.tamron-usa.com/lenses/prod/70300_di_a017.asp

Real macro lenses aren't cheap however but here are some offerings:

Other than the rings you don't seem to really need a macro lens however and may be able to make do with the lenses you have now.