Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old May 2, 2004, 9:16 PM   #1

I'm a private investigator and I'm wondering if I could get some help on choosing a lense for my D70 Camera. Of course the lense has to have a very good zoom on it, also picture quality and also something I could use at night, dusk, or dawn. But mostly for day shooting. Is the 70-300mm a good lense or is there something stronger?

Also, anything else I would need to make my pictures turn out more clear, or to take good pictures.

Thanks for the help!
Private Eye is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 8, 2004, 8:29 PM   #2

Keep in mind that i'm new to the whole dSLR scene.

Obviously the bigger the lens, the bigger the zoom, so it comes down to how far away you're going to be and how much detail you want. a 70-300 would be a good start, but seeing as you can buy up to about 800mm, it's certainly not as high as you can go.

What you will want to look for if you're going to be shooting in poorly lit conditions is a low number after the X-Ymm part of the description.

The kit lens on the D70 is a 18-70mm 3.5-4.5 lens, meaning a value of 3.5 at 18mm, and 4.5 at 70.. In really simple terms, the lower the number, the sharper the picture during low light conditions. As this is desirable, the lower the number, the higher the price.

Have a look at the Nikon website, and maybe also some compeditors like sigma, I know Sigma has a good brochure at the moment with all their lenses.

As I said, I am new to this, so people will probably reply and correct all mistakes..
PlatinumWeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9, 2004, 11:46 AM   #3