Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jul 19, 2004, 4:08 PM   #1

I know this area has been done to death but I haven't found much good advice.

I'm new to D-SLR, recently got a D70 and I'm looking to get a lens with better zoom than the one that came in the kit. I can get this Sigma 70-300mm for $220 CDN (think $165 US), and I'm wondering if I should go for this or if there is anything in the same price range I should consider.

Most reviews seem to rate it as "good for the price", and specifically site that it's not good in low light and has a slightly slow auto-focus. Is there anything else I should be aware of?

Thanks for any help!
StealthGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 19, 2004, 8:57 PM   #2

I just bought this lens a couple of weeks ago.My D70 is my first DSLR and I
really enjoy it.I now have 2 lenses.
Tamron SP 24-135 F3.5-5.6 AD Aspherical
Sigma 70-300 F4-5.6 II APO Macro
These are not fast lenses but for someone like me that has only been at this
for about 4 years they are more than enough. ( For Now )

My wife told me if I keep this up I will definitely not out live her.Hmmm....I wonder what she meant by that?

Anyway this is a link to a shot I took with my new Sigma 70-300

EasyRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2004, 12:36 PM   #3

Thanks EasyRay. I'm pretty sure this lens will suit me justfine, and the price is pretty good, so I can't really go wrong.
StealthGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2004, 1:00 PM   #4