Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Sep 14, 2004, 5:15 PM   #1

After about 4 Coolpix years, it's time to move on and I'm about to buy the D70.

I'd prefer to use just one versatile lens - and I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to the lenses - I'm sorry - hope to find a little help here...

There is the package that comes with the NIKON*18-70MM F3.5-4.5G ED-IF AF-S DX ZOOM lens and that looks like a rathr versatile lens to me.

But would the NIKON*24-120MM F/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR ZOOM-NIKKOR make a big difference and would it be much more versatile (for $200 more)?

What is the difference between DX and VR?

Is there another lens you'd recommend?

Thanks very much
rejoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 14, 2004, 7:24 PM   #2

DX and VR are two different technologies. Lack of one doesn't mean the other.

DX is the Nikon's designation for lenses designed specifically for digital sensor size, which are smaller than traditional 35mm film. It theoretically offers cheaper and lighter lenses, by not having to take into account the outer edges of a 35mm frame. You can use a non DX lense on a digital camera, but using a DX lens on a film camera will yield unfavourable results at wider angles.

VR is a technology that counters hand holding shakes, allowing you to use slower shutter speeds in low light conditions. Note: while it effectively eliminates camera/hand movement, it doesn't eliminate blurring due to subject movement that has a higher possibility of occuring with the slower shutter speeds.

The difference in field of view at the wide end of 24mm vs 18mm can be significant depending on your shooting style.