Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Aug 3, 2005, 10:28 PM   #1

I'm looking at buying a digital SLR and I'm new to SLR cameras and I don't understand the terminalogy such as 18-70mm and F4 etc. Can someone either explain this to me or provide links to sites talking about this.

wellery is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 4, 2005, 12:20 AM   #2

Are you sure you really need an SLR camera?

You'll need to learn a lot (both in theory and in practice) before you'll get your first quality shots with SLR. It really differs from "point &shot"

Dmitry M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2005, 1:48 AM   #3

In digital terms the lens terminology gets complicated I'm afraid. In the days of film the generally accepted standard was that a 50mm lens was the same as you saw with your eyes, so a 100mm lens doubled the image size, a 25mm lens saw wider but smaller and so on. Now the area that takes the image inside the camera, the sensor, is smaller so you have to multiply for Canon by 1.6 and for Nikon by 1.5, so a 50mm lens now becomes a 75mm lens on a digital camera (Nikon) and 80mm on a Canon. The 18/70 "kit" lens on the D70 and D70s is a very good all round lens, giving you the ability to take indoor shots at wide angle and also to pull in reasonably tight for portraits, being in old film terms a 27/105 lens. If you decide to get into digital SLR photography you'll soon find out what pleases you, whether it be taking general shots or that you need a telephoto for sport or wildlife or whatever. However, Dmitry has perhaps a good point in that there are many cheaper options with superb lenses if you are not sure that an SLR is really what you want; but that is another matter entirely and your choice.
cameranserai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2005, 5:20 AM   #4