Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Aug 13, 2005, 6:50 AM   #1

I am a great fan of the 50mm focal length. On my analog bodies, I often use the 50mm F/1.4 however it becomes a 75mm F/1.4 on my D70. Therefore, I would like to know what you are using for that focal length. I might just set my zoom lenses at 35mm but I must say I prefer primes over zoom lenses.

The 35mm F/2 D is an option, as well as the 28mm F/2.8. I have no experience with those two lenses and have problems finding reviews how these lenses behave on digital bodies, as some lenses perform better and other worse on a DSLR.

Thanks for your input.
dieseljunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 15, 2005, 1:16 AM   #2

The 17/35 F2.8- equivalent to 25/52 in film terms - is my standard lens now. Quite frankly even if you like primes I think you will find that this lens is so good you'll never need a prime again. I also have the 17/55 which, while good, isn'tin the same leagueas the 17/35. I have a few primes, but for pure convenience this lens takes some beating. Just read the reviews and I think you will come to the same comclusion.
cameranserai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2005, 10:41 PM   #3

Sigma is supposed to have a 35mm f/1.4 out in stores, that when converted to the 1.5x factor should yield close to the 50mm mark.
marokero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2005, 7:08 PM   #4

Sigma's offering, I believe, is a 30/f1.4. This works out to 45 mm on a DSLR. I looked at this lens but didn't buy it because I don't know whether Sigma was able to duplicateNikon's proprietary "D" technology into their product. This is the technology that ensures accurate fill-flash. If you don't shoot much flash, thiswould be my choice for a prime, normal focal length lens.