Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jan 22, 2006, 3:08 PM   #1

I own a D50 with a 18-55mm lens with extension tubes to do close-up. I'm a student with a low budget and I would like to buy other lens to do close-up photography. I red that AI and AI-S lens work with D50 and they're very cheap but work as well as new lens. It is true ? Also, I'm not sure which lens to buy .. Nikon Nikkor-S 50mm F/1.2 AI and Nikon Nikkor 105mm 1.8 AI-S seems great but I'm not really sure if they are good for close-up with extension tube.. Finally, I would like to know advantages and disadvantages of use a wide-angle and telephoto lens with extension tubes to do close-up. So if you could answer me and suggest me some cheap AI and AI-S lens which work with D50.. it would be nice =)

HPx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 23, 2006, 3:03 AM   #2

I don't know too much about this, but I do know that extension tubes tend to work better with telelenses.

There's an option to mount lenses backwards on cameras too. The 50mm seem to work very well for macro shots and come cheap. You need a converter though. I believe the Nikon BC3 can do this, but I'm not too sure about that.
Dee-ehn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2006, 7:03 AM   #3