Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Mar 20, 2003, 8:58 AM   #1
Default very basic lens question

Now your really going to think I'm a dumb blonde but I have to ask this basic question. When I purchased my Nikon D100 I also purchased a Nikkor 24-85 3.5-4.5 G afs, and a nikkor 50mm1:1.4D lens. With all things being equal, when would I use the 50mm lens. The zoom covers that range and with over 300 shots taken, seems to give a clearer shot so far. I bought the two lens after reading alot of reviews but you can tell by this question that I'm new at SRL cameras. And heres one more question. Is there a huge difference between the 80-200 AF zoom and the 80-200 AFS zoom? I know the AFS costs around $700 more.
Thanks again and see ya on the mountain.
Hiking Girl
hiking girl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 20, 2003, 10:30 AM   #2

I answered it in the Nikon SLR forum post you made.
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 10:56 AM   #3

Well, the 50mm should produce a sharper image than the 24-85mm at 50mm. The trade off is versatility. The zoom lens is a wonderful thing for walking around shots. This particular model, although plasticky and light, produces excellent shots. Where you often lose on zooms is 1) speed (your 50mm is a 1.4 vs. 3.5) and 2) tradeoff at the extremes, either lack of sharpness, barrel distortion at the wide end or pin cushion distortion at the long end.

The biggest shortcoming you may find with the zoom vs. your prime will be fast action or low light. A bright lens like a 1.4 allows faster shutter speeds.
scorpio_fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2003, 12:44 PM   #4