Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jun 1, 2006, 11:33 AM   #1

I just purchased the D50 in a kit from Costco and it came with 28-80mm f/3.3-5.6G AF Zoom-Nikkor and 70-300mm f/4-5.6G AF Zoom-Nikkor lenses.

I have seen kits online that come with
18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor and 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor lenses.

The price for each kite ends up being about the same, but the kit from Costco comes with a camera bag, and a 256mb SD card.

I'm very new to photography and I'm wondering what the differences are between these lenses, besides the focal length covered. I'm not sure what all the features mean on a lens. Are there differences in quality? Extra features offered by one over the other? Should I be taking the DX lenses over the G?

Here are the links to the Nikon spec pages

cyancey76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 21, 2006, 10:37 PM   #2

I just purchased this same D50 kit from Costco as well. I am interested in feedback regarding these two lenses and their primary uses. I am new to slr photography and will be using the camera in two primary ways: the kid's sports and indoor/outdoor family photos. Are these lenses suitable for my needs, or should I return this kit? (I need very simple feedback, as I am in over my head, I'm afraid.) Thanks for any help.
texmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2006, 6:31 AM   #3

The second kit lenses are a little better quality. That being said, your kit should be fine for your needs. I have the same kit (Tamron 70-300), and am very happy with the all around performance. However, I have purchased a Tamron 18-200, and have been using it almost exclusively.
Dave in NJ
bassithound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2006, 11:41 PM   #4