Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Nikon Lenses

Old Jul 17, 2006, 9:39 AM   #1

I'm buying a new Nikon D200 and need a couple of lens' to go with it... It has been some time since I've used a SLR camera. I've been using digital point and shoot for about 5 or 6 years now and want to really improve the quality and artistic content of my images. Let me tell you a bit about what I want to do and maybe you folks here can help me decide on some mounts.

1. General Photography...
Taking pictures of the kids doing.. well kid things. I figure a wide or super wide is probably best here to give me good depth and plenty of room to fit the subjets in. I can always crop it later if I need to...

2. Sports.
I love going to sporting events; both local and professional. I've tried to take pictures at my kids soccer games, but the point and shoot just doesn't cut it. I'm assuming telephoto is the way to go here; with it's short depth of field and fast motors. I'm really looking forward to getting some great shots this season.

Now.. cost is always an issue. With the camera body running about 1600.00 US I probably need to keep the lens cost between 1400-1500 US for both. I can't afford to break the bank with a 5000 lens.

Normally, I like to do all my research up front before making such a purchase. However, I started down the path and there are so many choices it's hard to narrow it down to a few to look into. That's what I'm looking for here. People's opinions to help me narrow it down.

Thanks Everyone.
brianboerner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 17, 2006, 11:54 AM   #2