Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Jul 13, 2003, 2:45 PM   #1
Default Nikon 3100 or ?

I was 99% sure I was going to get the Olympus C-4000, but as a beginning digital photographer, I thought maybe it was too complicated. I liked the Olympus better than the Nikon 4300. Then the 3100 caught my eye. It's one megapixel less than the others, but it's also a $100 cheaper. The main reason I like it, is it seems to be more simple to use. Opinions?

I want to be able to take good Macro photos, as well as regular pics, landscapes, sports, etc...

Also, does the 3100 have 3:2 so I can print out broderless 4 x 6 photos?
gardengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 13, 2003, 6:51 PM   #2

Gardengirl, I've had the 3100 since May. I like it very much. It takes great macro photos and is very simple to use. I still haven't used all its features, but the camera itself is very simple to use.

I don't know what 3:2 is, but I get my prints done at Costco, I don't print them at home. They come out great.

If you decide to buy it, make sure you update the firmware. There is a technical issue in which the camera thinks your rechargeable batteries are low on charge, even if you just charged them. The firmware fixes the issue.

I bought it at Dell.com through a Techbargains.com referral. I paid $262 including shipping. It was a fantastic deal.

Good luck!

Aubrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2003, 7:44 PM   #3

Gardengirl, The 3100 is very easy to use. Yes you can print borderless prints,but that is set by your printer not the camera. I have over 1500 pix from this camera and so far no problem. The batter problem was fixed with a firmwarte update for those units made before may 31 2003. Tealblue
tealblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2003, 8:14 PM   #4