Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Dec 8, 2008, 12:24 AM   #1

I am kinda new to slr photography. I have read some materials regarding terms etc on this, but I have questions that I hope you guys can help me clear up.

I am just wondering, what kind of lens is best suited for family portrait photography and what's best for scenic photography of course that doesn't necessarily goes to the best of each as it can be extremely expensive.

I have seen lens like 50mm f/1.4 and f/1.8, how much difference does it make? the cost for the two seems to be quite significantly different.

Is it necessary to go for 400mm for scenic photography? I have seen some with f/2.8 and some f/4.5 with significant difference in price, and I would like to know how different does it make?

I like to take night scenery too, and what kind of gear do you guys advice?

right is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 16, 2009, 11:04 PM   #2

For agreat portrait lens for a great price I suggest the 50mm f/1.8D.

Whatever lens you get you should get it soon -- prices are about to go up:

wespj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2009, 7:51 AM   #3

right wrote:
I am just wondering, what kind of lens is best suited for family portrait photography