Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Jan 3, 2013, 12:14 PM   #1

Default Nikon dslr 3100

Please can someone help me? I bought my hubby a Nikon D3100 for Christmas. What lens do we need to get to take detailed photos of something, say, a mile away? I have read so many different websites in the last few days and they all seem to confuse me! I'm hoping someone will take pity on a complete newbie to "decent" photography and give me a rough pointer! Thank you in advance, and sorry for being a complete numpty about this!
Rachie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 3, 2013, 12:24 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rachie View Post
Please can someone help me? I bought my hubby a Nikon D3100 for Christmas. What lens do we need to get to take detailed photos of something, say, a mile away?
Generally speaking, you're not going to take a detailed photo of something a mile away. So, can you get more specific about what types of photos your husband will be taking from a distance? Did you get a lens included with the camera or just the body without any lens at all?
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 1:44 PM   #3

He wants to take photos of various sports and wildlife. The only reason I said a mile was through my internet trawling I found some demo photos of a barn that in the "non-zoom" picture you couldn't see at all, but in the final one you could see doors and windows etc. The camera came with a 18 - 55mm f/3.5 -5.6G VR and we have since bought an AF70 - 300 mm F/4 - 5.6 (have to admit that means nothing to me!). I was under the impression that the 300mm bit meant it would pick things out from a distance. Thank you for helping!
Old Jan 3, 2013, 2:06 PM   #4

Ok, now we're getting somewhere. There are a number of lenses that CAN be used for sports or wildlife. But, the bad news is - that type of shooting can get VERY expensive.
Let's start with the sports side of things: