Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Nov 11, 2004, 2:41 PM   #1

After several weeks wearing out Steve's website looking at the 8800, I got so tired of debating whether I needed it and went out and bought one ! I thought I'd share my impressions after one day, as that is the kind of report I was hoping to read before buying.

I've been "into" photography since the late 1960's and still own a large set of Nikon lenses and an F2S from the 1970's. Ive owned two simple digital cameras, the last one being a Kodak 3MP with a 3X zoom. I've been relatively pleased with these small cameras, but wanted more zoom, better image quality and better response in lower light situations. I'm no expert on these RAW and TIFF files etc. and didn't know if I needed, or could use 8MP.

The box contains quite a pile of "stuff". I sorted through and found the battery charger, cord and battery and plugged it in. 1 3/4 hours later it stopped flashing and is supposedly fully charged. There are warnings about sticking the battery in the camera incorrectly, but I don't see how you could. I bought a 1MB memory card, which is simple to insert. It indicates 502 shots available at 8MP, so I could have saved a few bucks and settled for a 512Mb card instead.

There is a "Quick Start Guide" which gets you set up and running easily. One step is to choose the menu language. I selected English, but managed to get German ! I couldn't back track and was very frustrated for several minutes before finding out how to correct this. The Menu button is one of those 4 points and select in the centre things and is very sensitive and easy to "miss punch" if you have big hands, like me. You are basically ready to shoot at this stage.