Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Jan 30, 2005, 2:51 AM   #1

Hi all,
I am new to posting in this forum though I've been intensely reading Steve's reviews and the forums here for the past few months.

To start, I am writing this as a person who has purchased the Nikon 5100 and wants to put some impressions of it out there for anyone else interested in this versus the 5200. Please keep in mind I am just a hobby photographer, by no means professional and also still fairly new to the game - so take my views with a grain of salt!

The provided NiMH batteries that come with the 5100 are 2000mAh, so they last a substantial period of time, but remember you must cycle them a few times before they can hold a full charge. I like them though, I've had no difficulty taking a days worth of photos on the one set. The camera also comes with a nice little NiMH charger - though it can only charge two AAs at a time. I have yet to run it with a CRV3 - though I expect better results over the NiMH.

From what I can tell of the major differences between the 5200 and the 5100 - the CCD is smaller on the 5100, so more noise is present, although I have very few complaints about the noise thus far - I'd say it's just as good as my father's FZ20 for that. The lens is also slower than the 5200, and I don't think it's nearly of the same quality.

I looked good and hard at the 5200 and even took test photos at a nice local photography shop to compare the cameras, and the 5200 was noticably better. That is not to say the image quality is bad on the 5100 though. I also looked at the Panasonic FX7, Canon SD300, Pentax s5i, and Panasonic LC80, and I'd argue the 5100 easily held its own against all of them.