Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Nikon

Old Oct 5, 2005, 10:02 AM   #1

Hey people!
I'm not a expert camera-guy, but am in general pretty competent with electronics and such. I would rate myself as near-intermediate in my camera and photo understanding.
My 8800 is new - I bought it over an SLR because it had more flexibility, great zoom, VR feature and felt it would handle all situations with the competency I needed.
Here's my problem: I have a bunch of new nephews and nieces these days, and at family gatherings, I always try to get some good pics, in hopes of sending them out as framed gifts later on. Problem is, the shutter lag on the 8800 is killing me. I just cannot capture babies well, since they don't sit still terribly well. I swear it takes over 0.5 seconds for the darn shutter to operate. How fast is this camera capable of shuttering after I hit the button?
OR, what settings should I use, assuming I am taking these shots indoors in good lighting, or outdoors in good lighting.
Thanks in advance - I am fairly frustrated and thinking I screwed up and should have got the dSLR.

philmeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 5, 2005, 12:36 PM   #2

According to another web site (I do not know if we can list competiting web sites' links here, so I will err on the side of caution), the Nikon 8800's shutter lag is as follows:

Shutter Lag, Full AF: 0.5 sec
Shutter Lag, Manual Focus: 0.3 sec
Shutter Lag, Pre-Focus: 0.1 sec