Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Feb 5, 2007, 11:44 PM   #1

I am new to the whole DSLR world and I want to learn how to take better indoor pictures. I am using the 40-150mm lens that came with my Olympus E-500 shooting indoor soccer pictures. When I get home and upload the pitures onto my computer they are all dark. Then I lighten them up in GIMP image editor but they the quality is really bad at a 1:1 scale. I think this is because of the fast shutter speed and low amounts of light so I slowed up the shutter speed to where the pictures were still clear (1/60) but I am still having the same problem and using a flash is not an option because it distracts the players. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
soccermax15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 6, 2007, 4:24 PM   #2

take a look at this thread

with the options you have its going to be tough.

i use the sport mode, turn your iso to 800,

you'll have to take test shots for the wb. good luck!

airbrushjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2007, 7:17 PM   #3

First of all, you should preview your shots at the game to make sure of what you're getting. By the time you get home, it's (of course) too late.

I take pictures of my kids' indoor sports (wrestling, basketball, cheeleading, etc.) using the 40-150mm and an E-500. I gave up on sports mode, although that is a good place to start.

I either use full manual or (usually) aperture priority.ISO is set at 1600 and I set the white balance manually at the scene. Post processing at that high of an ISO is a must, so I use NeatImage to remove all of the chromiance noise (red and blue dots) and a wee bit of the luminance noise (salt & pepper dots). Be careful with the luminance noise removal, as that will take away detail if you remove too much.