Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Oct 18, 2007, 2:31 AM   #1

I have an E500 dual lens kit and I want to expand the kit a little (with a limited budget!!) and would like some advice. I am looking at getting the 35mm macro lens or the fl-36 flash. I used to like taking macros on my old p&s so would like this ability again but I also have my sister's wedding in December and think the flash would do me some good in taking candidpictures in the evening (she has a pro aswell!!). I would obviously like both but like i say budget is limited!! Any advice on what to get (or what to get first) or any other input on what to get apart from these two?

Thanks in advance for any responses!

miked2372 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 18, 2007, 6:25 PM   #2

Hi Mike

From what I've seen of the 35mm its a cracker of a lens, esp at eth price but I've no real experience of the lens. Regards the flash, the Fl36 is a good flash esp for the miney but if you could stretch it to the FL50 that would be even better.

For macro work, you could try a close up filter like a Nikon 6T with the 40-150 or even stac two close up filters onto the 40-150, although I wouldn't know what the IQ would be like but at least you would be able to keep some distance between yoursef and the litle critters.

Hope that helps

HarjTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2007, 6:47 AM   #3

I agree! The 35mm is a great lens for the money. This rose is appropriately called 'Sweet Dream'!

My current sweet dream is of the E3, but that's another thread!

Best wishes,

Attached Images
RosemanJP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2007, 12:26 AM   #4