Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Jul 20, 2009, 6:43 PM   #1
Default My first DSLR experience with Oly E510

Hey all,

I'm a newbie to the DSLR world and its encouraging to find so many people who are passionate about photography. I got my first DSLR Oly E510 3 days back and took it for test shoots.

Having never used DSLRs I didnt know what to expect but the results even at standard quality (800kb) is excellent. I'm still exploring the hows and hopefully will get better. I'll be traveling up into the mountains next week and hoping to get some stellar shots.

Your experienced views about the photos will help me critically evaluate some of the things I may have missed. I also plan to get 1 additional lens in 2-3 months time and would appreciate if you guys can recommend an appropriate choice.

All the photos are taken in manual mode using kit lenses. The photos attached are taken with the 40 - 150mm lens.

Attached Images
Zeshane is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 20, 2009, 9:08 PM   #2
Default Welcome aboard

Hi and congrats on getting your new E-510. Hope you have as much fun with yours as I've had with mine.

Since you mentioned that this is your 1st dslr, I would recommend a few things;
First off, learn everything you can about your camera and it's controls. A good place to start is at a site known as wrotniak.net. There are a myriad of articles on all things to do with Olympus cameras. Here is a link specific to the E-510: http://www.wrotniak.net/photo/43/e510-rev.html

Another suggested reading is this article relative to suggested settings for the E-510: http://www.wrotniak.net/photo/43/e510-sett.html

Visit the Olympus website. There you can find all sorts of tutorials relative to specific types of photography.

Oh, and I almost forgot: READ YOUR MANUAL!!!!!