Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus dSLR

Old Sep 15, 2013, 6:16 AM   #1

Default Alternative positive from OM-D EM1

Firstly, I am just a snapshooter standard photographer who loves photography and does indeed aspire to improve.

Am also a Olympus camera lover, have always loved the quality of the models they have produced over the years going back to to the wonderful OM series when I used the OM-2N and the great OM lenses with great results.

Despite being totally happy with the E-3 I went along with the mirror-less movement and bought the EM5 and more than a few M43 lens, I have to say that the IQ was tremendous and loved the results, but I never ever bonded with the body, buttons were just too small, depth of the body just never ever felt comfortable and was never at ease with what I was seeing through the viewfinder.

Long story short is that I have sold all M43 gear and have bought (again) a E-3 (with new shutter) and a 14-54 lens, suffice to say I could not be happier, it fits me perfectly, I love the simpler menu and feel much more in control of the camera, now all I have to do is find another 50-200 and I will have a kit that suits me perfectly.

I also note that here in Australia there has been a rush of e-3 and a few e-5 being put on ebay which to me is a great benefit as they have been as rare as hens teeth in the last twelve months, but not so many 43 lens.

I fully appreciate that the EM5 and indeed the soon to be available EM1 will be a terrific camera for most, but for us who are not quite so comfortable with the smaller kit this is a godsend for the larger bodies and lens being available.

Suffice to say I hope you all enjoy the EM1, for me I will keep on keeping on with this outdated technology.

E-3, 14-54, 14-42, 40-150, 70-300, HLD-4
Leeston is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 15, 2013, 1:58 PM   #2