Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Olympus Micro Four Thirds

Old Feb 11, 2013, 4:44 PM   #1

Default walking around campus with the 25mm

Finally had a sunny day, very clear day here, which is rare in Pittsburgh. Walked home from campus from University of Pittsburgh near the border with the Carnegie Mellon campus to shoot these. I quickly pulled up the shadows in iPhoto, which I'm finding I actually like better than the Olympus Viewer 2 as far as getting some of the colors right and pulling out the shadows. I do really need to get Photoshop though, as I'm sick of using the school computers for it.

Love the 25mm panasonic, although I could have used a slightly wider lens for many of these shots (the 12-50 stayed in my bag).

A quick question though. I know its more of an issue with the Panasonic 14, but with the 25, do I need to take out CA? I'm not very good at picking it up with my eye anyway, but I remember reading about the need to do this manually in editing with the panasonic lenses)

(larger: http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8091/8...7b947cdb_k.jpg)

larger (http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8511/8...6e3f4089_k.jpg)

larger (http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8091/8...2d3d81b6_k.jpg)

drew881 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 11, 2013, 6:11 PM   #2

Looks good, I guess you didn't get hit by the snow. As for CA I don't see any at this resolution, normally tree branches against deep blue sky makes it show. I don't think the 25 has much CA to correct, some other lenses like the 14 do which is where you hear that thing about in body ca correction on the Panasonic.
Old Feb 11, 2013, 6:35 PM   #3

Yeah, it totally missed us. We had 3-4 inches from another storm the week before, but it completely melted. Today was 45-50 degrees.
Old Feb 11, 2013, 8:16 PM   #4

Oh, if you get a chance take some snaps around the area where some of Forbes Field's outfield wall is still standing?