Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Nov 9, 2009, 4:17 PM   #1

Default I need sp-590uz pic help!

Very new camera to me. I am not trained in taking photos. I LOVED my Olympus Camedia c-765 and did not have this kind of picture quality problem. Perhaps I have bought too fancy of a camera for my capabilities......

These pictures are ot as crisp, clear and brilliant as some of my other pics. They look grainy/pixelated. What's wrong?

[/IMG]
1/800 f4.2 iso 1250 12m

[/IMG]

1/640 f 4.2 iso 800 12m

Thanks in advance,
Stephanie

Last edited by Stepmc10; Nov 9, 2009 at 4:18 PM. Reason: pics not able to be seen, forgot to sign it...
Stepmc10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 9, 2009, 4:26 PM   #2

Obviously, I am a novice - I can't properly post the pics....
Old Nov 9, 2009, 6:11 PM   #3

Stephanie-

Welcome to the Forum. Thanks for dropping by.

No need to post at all. Your post answered the problem. The SP-590 uses a small ccd type imager about the size of a large pinhead. The SP-590 will do fairly well with its image quality, as long as you keep the ISO settin at ISO 400 and below.

It is when the ISO goes above that level, that image quality comes crashing downward in quality.

Have a great day.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2009, 7:36 PM   #4

I might add to what Sarah Joyce has said by saying that the SP590 is a very sophisticated piece of equipment. While having a small sensor and a fixed lens, it is in every way just as complex as a DSLR. Probably more so because of the fact that it DOES have a small sensor. Having said that, it's an outstanding camera that produces excellent images once you learn how to use it to it's capabilities. It undoubtedly has a much bigger learning curve than your old Oly. BUT, the payoffs are well-worth the learning. Do yourself a favor and learn to shoot without using the "Auto" setting. You won't regret it.
My Gallery

--
Hebrews 13:3