Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Dec 19, 2003, 7:40 AM   #1
Default Olympus c-5000 vs Canon A80

I am a novice and will be purchasing my first digital camera. My original choice was to go with the Canon A80 because it has a nice combination of auto and manual features plus it is a 4 megapixel camera and it is within my budget. Then I chanced upon the Olympus C-5000 and I like it because of a couple of things.

1. 5 MP
2. Hotshoe (I do not intend to buy the flash now.. may in the long run)
3. uncompressed TIFF format
4. Remote control
5. a great value (within my budget)

But i get a lot of complaints about poor indoor focusing and no AF illuminator.

My purpose of using the digital camera would be for family photos (But both indoor and outdoor shots ) and also for novice photography.

So in conclusion does the canon A80 perform better than the C-5000 because of good image quality inspite of not having hotshoe and uncompressed TIFF format ?

Can you tell me in other words what are the advantages of Canon a80 over C-5000 and the disadvantages.

I would be really grateful if you can have the patience to guide me. It is my first digital camera and I love photography and I would love to have a good experience with the digital camera.

Thanks a lot
NK20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 28, 2003, 12:07 AM   #2