Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Mar 7, 2004, 9:36 AM   #1
Default Redeye problems

I have a C3020. I seem to have a big problem with redeye indoors. I set my camera at OS 100 & 200 with red eye block. I even tried setting high on flash. What am I doing wrong? It takes wonderful pictures outdoors, but indoors is a differant story. I'm new at this,but I'm getting the bug. I bought a Canon i960 photo printer! Please Help?????
tsnawder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 7, 2004, 10:05 AM   #2

Your red eye problem stems from flash on the 3020 being too close to lens ( a compromise to achieve compact size). Red eye is caused by light from the flash reflecting off of the retina of the subject's eye directly back into the lens. The red eye reduction mode for the flash fires a pre-flash before the main exposure flash in an attempt to get the subject's pupils to contract. As you have experienced, this trick doesn't often work.

The usual work arounds for red eye are to move the flash farther away from the lens, bounce the flash off of the ceiling or nearby side walls in order to increase the angle from the light ofthe flash to the subjects eyes (and back to the lens). Obviously you can't do either of these with the 3020 since the flash is in as fixed position. The 3020 further limits your options in that it doesn't provide a flash sync connection to allow you to use an external flash. Your best work around is, if at all possible, increase the ambient lighting in the room so that your subject's pupils will tend to be smaller; and if there is enough ambient light, turn off the flash altogether--boosting the ISO setting if need be.

You can always edit out the red eye in post processing if none of the above work for you.

good luck
jawz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2004, 9:04 PM   #3
Default Two tips

A couple of tips that seem to help: