Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Oct 12, 2002, 4:27 AM   #1
Default Help - Looking at Buying a Digicam

I am new to digi-photog, but am a former high school darkroom junkie. I got out of photography during college and early married life, and now, 20+ years later want to get back into it with a digi-cam. I started by purchasing a mini-dv camcorder with a DSC feature - fine for quick pics, but lousy reproduction at 640X480.

So - I have had my hands on three Olys lately (and I am a died in the wool Nikon fan) - the 720, 730, and 4000z. I found the 720 not quite up to par feature-wise, liked the features in the 730, but couldn't get a decent snap at full zoom (no stabilizer I understand), and love the full-feature set of the 4000z - but only 3X zoom.

So - any comments/inputs/suggestions are welcome. I'll be taking my time to buy - probably not until after christmas and perhaps even spring (price drops are notorious around march-april).

Thanks for your help. ...jww
jww is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 14, 2002, 9:44 AM   #2
Default Suggestion: check out the C2100

If you want digital image stabilization, the C2100 has a 10x optical zoom. It's no longer being produced, but refurbs are available for about $350...
lg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2002, 4:09 PM   #3

:P like 'lg', I too have the Oly C2100 (nickname: uzi).
I really love this camera. I've hardly put it down since I got it about a year ago.

As it was discontinued some time ago, it's getting increasingly harder to find one. Other owners agree that if you do, don't hesitate.

True - it is a 2.1 mp camera but if you don't intend to make humungous enlargements, it is a simply wonderful beast!

The stabilized zoom is terrific.
Recently, I began shooting exclusively in black and white. The shots are so nice - very artsy.