Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Nov 9, 2002, 8:20 AM   #1
Default Lens Adapters and lens - Many ??

Yes, I am a newbie - but wanted to post specific questions to Olympus people as I have recently purchased a C-700. I want to make sure the lens, etc are complementary to my camera's 10x len and optics.

I want to purchase an adapter 'tube' and at least a UV len to protect the 10x lens; I may buy additional lens in the future if I want/need polarized/macro/etc. I would also like to think if I upgrade to a newer camera in the future I maybe able to use some the already purchased lens.

1) It seems the CLA4 adapter by Olympus is very pricey - am I missing some special feature other than the Olympus name on the adapter?

2) What size do I buy? (is bigger mm always better?)
Looking on eBay and elsewhere I have seen both 46.5 to 43mm lens adapters and 45.6 to 52mm adapters. In my limited research I think :? I should buy the 45.6 to 52MM adapter so I can purchase more common-sized lens(UV, polarized, etc); is this true? I am also worried about the smaller adapters/lens cutting off some of the photo(is it called vignetting or something?) - is this really a problem?

3) Some of the smaller adapters (46.5 to 43mm) are stated they can be threaded into camera body - elsewhere I have read the threads are really not deep/strong enough to hold adapter long-term?? I do not want to pull threads out of len's body on my new 'toy' . What is what in this area????????

4) Any sites I can buy at reasonable costs?
On eBay a person is selling 52mm Hoya UV and polarized lens for approx $45 with non-Olympus adapter - is this reasonable?

5) does it matter if adapter 'tube' is silverish verse black on the inside of tube? Some are black plastic I think - some are metal/metallic silver - I do not know if this makes a difference in light reflection, etc. I know I am showing my ignorance here but if I do not ask....