Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Jan 2, 2006, 4:34 PM   #1

Hi all,

I just purchased an Olympus Stylus 800, at a local photo shop, with the rights to return/exchange in 30 days. I've played with it a lot, and used it last night at a party we had. Overall, I've been impressed, but my pictures last night did not turn out as well as I would have liked. I have read the manual (on CD), but have several questions--perhaps I missed the points--and am hoping someone here may have some answers/comments. Sorry if these are stupid--I am not an expert photographer by any stretch of the imagination.

1. I was shooting indorrs with incandecent lights. The camera was set to Auto White Balance. I was both shooting with available light and with flash. Many of my pictures are too warm (too orange). After the party, I shot some pictures with my camera, and a friends Panasonic (also new, but unsure of the model). Shooting the same subject in the same light, with both cameras on auto white balance, the Panasonic was much colder (perhaps too much so), vs. the Olympus. I switched the white balance to the tungsten (incandecent) setting and tried that--but there was little difference between that setting and auto. Is this just a characteristic of the camera, or is there some way to "manually" set the white balance--like in the old days with a grey card?

2. I have an ancient Kodak digital camera, which provides a simple options to have the date (or date and time) appear on the photo (not just in the meta-data, but on the image). I can't find a similar option for the Olympus--am I missing something--is there a way to do this?