Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital Cameras (Point and Shoot) > Olympus

Old Feb 2, 2006, 5:05 AM   #1

I need a little assistance. I want to buy a new camera so I come across many cameras and I studied about them. Following are the cameras I am attracted to and they are listed on priority bases

1. Olympus sp 500-uz

2. Sony DSC-h1

3. Nikon 7900

The good thing about sp500 is that it has good optical zooming and lots of sense modes but does not support image stabilization (I don't know its important or not but I usually have to take pics of moving things usually, tell me about it..)

Sony is good better optical zooming than sp 500 but got only 7 sense modes. I don't know it has image stabilization or not…do tell be about it.

Nikon 7900 got smaller LCD and smaller zooming but I heard about it that's its quite a good camera. Still I don't know that it support image stabilization or not.

So which camera is best for me.
And do tell me what is ISO and why it is needed. Thanks. Sorry for bad English
SAJJAD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 27, 2006, 11:18 PM   #2

Add to your list; Panasonic. Any of the FZ range - eg 5, 7, 20 or 30. All great camera's with extensive zoom's and image stabilisation.

ISO is the relevant 'film' speed. Think back to film camera's and the different speeds of film you could get ie, 100, 200 and 400 were the most common. Digital camera's have an equivilant and it's referred to as the same - ISO. The higher the number the faster the film and the better picture it took in low light.

As you can't 'add' film to digital camera's they come with various ISO's that you can choose from for different situations. Compacts from around 100 to 800 or 1600 in some cases. DSLR's up to 3200 speed. Unfortunately for most camera's the higher the ISO you choose (or the camera chooses for you) the higher the levels of noise. This may or may not be a bad thing depending on the camera and how much of a perfectionist you are.