Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Other Photos

Old May 21, 2004, 2:07 AM   #1

Well i know my pics are nothing special at all. Ive been browsing this page for a few days now and this site is the reason i purchased my A75. Some of the pics here on this forum are amazing. Makes me want to go out and just start shooting. Well i took these pics tonight around 11:30pm here in michigan. Both are 15 sec exposures at f-2.8 _ iso 50. I dont like how bright both pics are and was wondering if anyone has any tips on how i can get the background a little darker. Im a newbie at all this so im trying to learn.Thanks for any info anyone can give me.
Attached Images

mark966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 21, 2004, 2:07 AM   #2

2nd pic
Attached Images

Old May 21, 2004, 12:39 PM   #3

Lightning is one of the more difficult subjects to shoot since it is totally unpredictable. Your pictures are a little overexposed. That can be fixed somewhat in your photo editor by increasing the contrast and reducing the brightness. In the camera, I would recommend stopping down the lens by at least one f-stop (higher number). If your camera accepts a cable release or remote cord, and has a "B" (bulb) setting on shutter speed I would try the following. Point the camera in the general direction where you thing the lightning will be. Use full manual exposure control. Set the aperture for about f16. Attach the cable or remote cord to the camera. Press the remote button and lock it down. In "B" mode, the shutter remains open until the shutter is released. Once the lightning flash has occured, release the shutter. You may need to experiment with the f-stop. Use ISO100 if available.
calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2004, 1:05 PM   #4