Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Post Your Photos > Other Photos

Old Oct 27, 2004, 10:43 PM   #1

Here are some shots of tonight's Lunar eclipse. They progress from about 50% to 100% eclipse. Nikon D100, Nikon 80-300mm zoom, Quantaray 2x telextender, tripod, self-timer to compensate for shaky tripod. I started shooting at 50% with ISO 200, and was at ISO 800 when the eclipse reached 100%. I used manual focus, although trying to focus on something that dim was difficult.

Note--This my first time ever, shooting the moon with any kind of camera.

Cal Rasmussen
calr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 27, 2004, 11:13 PM   #2

Well done! I watched it from Chester, England, through patchy cloud, but failed dismally to record it on my Hi8 camcorder. Last time we had one of these total lunar eclipses I got good Video8 but no stills. Camcorders were the only devices sensitive enough in those days, because cheap consumer digicams hadn't been invented yet.

My 13-yr-old son asked to be woken up to see it, but then toddled off down the road to his grannie's house for the night, so the best he'll get is your pictures. Thanks very much!
Alan T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2004, 11:28 PM   #3

i think a run through neat image and some possible sharpening would do wonders here cal!

great shots! moon shots are tough...mainly for exposure...you apparently went for details in the darker areas...in the "shadow"...

that shows wat this is the best...but you overexpose the sunlit spots...

the only way to overcome that problem, is to shoot two shots, and blend them...but that's especially tough for moon shots...

anyway lol, very well done for a first time...well...very well done for any time!

Vito
photosbyvito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2004, 12:00 AM   #4